PDA

View Full Version : How much of an advantage?

Culio
9th Apr 2008, 22:35
Hello all :ok:

OK, so I'm starting to talk a bit TOO much about the RAF and being a pilot, I'm sorry (maybe I'm a bit too keen...but whatever)

I was wondering how much of an advantage being a member of ATC (Air Training Corps NOT Air Traffic Control :\) was in becoming a pilot in the RAF. I joined a few weeks back (it's great fun :P) and I was just wondering how much of a margin it creates between an Air Cadet enrolling and civvy (dare I use that word :ouch:) for being an officer in the RAF, if any.

I should also have my gold Duke of Edinburgh Award by the time I "sign up" and I was an avid Scout! :P

OK, in all seriousness, does it have an advantage? It's not going to stop me going to ATC, I love it too much, I was just wondering ;)

Cya around,

Culio

SkyCamMK
9th Apr 2008, 22:54
Well, just how long is a piece of string? IMHO it could help if you did these well for the right reasons and if you are a solid character so to speak. You may find a service family with offspring that have lived with their operational parents trumps that, or a young keen girl with a PPL and who is a runner or active spiorts person, or another chap who is simply very bright and has just "seen the light". There are no free lunches. See the threads about OASC Officer and Aircrew Selection Centre. RAF is small now compared with when I joined in 1975. Competition is firerce. Skill, experience and knowledge are limited due to age but you can see that if you were the recruiter how impressed would you be with someone who has just discovered there is life outside school etc? It will not do you harm of course. Go for it! You will get to fly with them if you are keen and capable too. It is a good organisation but you will only get out in relation to what you put in. Any help?

matt_hooks
10th Apr 2008, 23:05