PDA

View Full Version : Variable pitch wing design for a sailplane...

Quokka
8th Apr 2008, 07:36
SWEPT WING VARIABLE PITCH SAILPLANE

Document Type and Number: United States Patent 3561702

Link to this page: http://www.freepatentsonline.com/3561702.html

Abstract: A sailplane is provided in which the line-of-lift of the wing is swept back from the longitudinal elastic axis to give an automatic wing twist with change of lifting force. In operation, a reduction in the angle of incidence from an updraught wind results in a trade of lift for greater forward thrust. An increase in angle of incidence from a downdraught wind results in a trade of forward momentum for greater lift. This is most effective under turbulent air conditions.

...is the bit that I've highlighted in bold type true?

old,not bold
8th Apr 2008, 09:31
Hasn't that patent been held by whichever God one subscribes to for many million years? I'm not an engineer, but to a layman like me it sounds like how a seagull works, when in soaring mode.

Parapunter
8th Apr 2008, 10:10
I'm no sailplane expert, but have flown other types of glider for years & the general rule of thumb is to slow down in lift, to maximise the climb. Makes sense to me.

Quokka
8th Apr 2008, 10:25
But lift?... in a downdraft?

airfoilmod
8th Apr 2008, 13:01
The old F-8 Crusader, although the purpose on that A/C was to improve viz. on short final. Doesn't raising the Angle of Incidence create more Drag (LIFT) assuming the Fuselage keeps its Pitch Angle? That sounds like trading AS for Altitude, Down draft or no. The net gain (loss) of altitude depends on the velocity of the airmass downward. Merely climbing (in an updraft) puts energy in the Bank for later. Or you can gain AS (energy). I may not understand correctly; I have small time in Hang gliders and sailplanes, my motto is Powerless flight is just a negotiation with the airmass, riding the elevator and looking for thermals. It is blessedly satisfying.

Intruder
8th Apr 2008, 17:51