PDA

View Full Version : "Hypocritic oath"....or "Trust me, I'm a Doctor"

Krystal n chips
27th Mar 2008, 06:45
So, if the report is correct, your man here indulges in a little job creation for his colleagues, yet the ahem "august body" :mad: decides that basically, he's still ok to continue as a doctor......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/coventry_warwickshire/7315531.stm

Why, I wonder, are the so called governing bodies of the professions, so reluctant to actually take punitive action when one of their own clearly demonstrates a form of behaviour that suggests he really shouldn't be anywhere near the public.

G-ZUZZ
27th Mar 2008, 07:03
Are you sure you don't mean the Hippocratic Oath?

Maybe this guy's a hypocritical oaf.

Mac the Knife
27th Mar 2008, 07:14
So if he had been an airline pilot you'd be calling for his ATPL to be pulled?

:ugh:

G-ZUZZ
27th Mar 2008, 07:28
what if he'd been a dispatcher or some kind of ground staff - they foul up all the time but no licence to pull. just sack him I suppose??

gingernut
27th Mar 2008, 10:42
Can I book him as a locum?

All joking apart, it does seem a little liberal, but I note we're not in possession of the full facts.

My own governing body seems to make some very bizzare decisions. (They once let a rapist back on the register.)

I'm not a violent man, I've been tempted to smack a few people, but havn't, but I guess there would be situations where I would have to, if pushed.

Should I lose my career if this happened?

chuks
27th Mar 2008, 11:09
There's a thing with renewing your medical when you have to report arrests for certain categories of crime and I think something like GBH might well see you grounded if you hold a pilot licence, yes. Drink driving will do nicely, for one, so why not a conviction for beating someone unconscious?