PDA

View Full Version : High Blood Pressure Medication and Flying for a Career

buckrogers
22nd Mar 2008, 18:51
I have just started treatment for high blood pressure and although I can keep my licence and gain employment as an instructor I am wondering how far I can go. I am a CPL with a ME IR and just turned 40 with around 1000 hours total time. Am I looking at being a career instructor for the rest of my aviation career or will some airlines consider employing me?

Shunter
22nd Mar 2008, 19:59
Providing your BP is under 160/95 for your medical, that's end of story in most respects. Medication to get it below said limit is perfectly ok.

Bealzebub
22nd Mar 2008, 23:36
Despite the glib reply above that is not "the end of the story" nor is "medication to get it under (160/95) perfectly OK".

Hypertension is a very common systemic disorder that falls into two categories. Essential Hypertension is elevated blood pressure where no specific medical cause is evident. Secondary hypertension is elevated blood pressure caused by a recognised medical condition.

Hypertension is often very insidious, in that it goes undetected unless the patient is made aware usually by a routine check at their doctors surgery, or as part of a medical examination. Obviously sustained high BP readings should warrant further investigation as they may well be secondary to another serious underlying cause. Given the seriousness of hypertension it is important to seek treatment and guidance from your G.P.

The good news it that most cases of essential hypertension that require drug therapy, do respond well to treatment. The treatment is likely to be a lifelong requirement in most cases. Sometimes the condition can be treated by changes in the patients lifestyle and diet.