PDA

View Full Version : Airline or BizJet? Any notions??

LOOKUP
17th Mar 2008, 11:14
Hi all

I have a little dilemma regarding where to take my career next.

I have been flying commercially for about a year now, coming up on a 1000 TT and 700 on the B737 (first job).

I have an opportunity on getting a position on the Global 5000, a three year contract with ok money, home base (commuting to the AC base paid by the company...), rating paid, per diems (around 20 days a month out of he country!!) and roughly 40 H per month flight time.

My question is, since I am fairly new in the buis., what kind of affect will this have on my future career? I mean what would you do?

The recruiter made it clear that for the first three years there is no way for command, after that, time will tell.

From another point of view Ill get the opportunity to "taste" of both worlds, airline and privet, and by that get a clearer perspective as to what I want.

I am 28 with a current job (base) Id like to change and I feel I have only now started to get the hang of the B737 so it feels like a shame...

So that's it. To take it or not, will it affect my career in a positive way or is it better to stick to the type I have and gain proficiency on it?

Any opinions will be greatly appreciated, I'm sure some of you have been there.. J

Thanks in advance,

LU

Iver
17th Mar 2008, 14:02
Do you want to be away from home for 20+ days per month? That seems like a lot. Global is nice airplane of course but you might not have stability of airline (probably Air Europe or Ryanair if 737 in Spain). Where do you want to be in 10 years - airline or corporate? That is the main question.

If I got same offer, I would stay at airline unless I got better guarantees about upgrade and QOL issues. No way I want to be away from Spain 20+ days per month. If so, it better be a great Global job with the best terms.

Twin2040
17th Mar 2008, 14:12