PDA

View Full Version : Setting up my own (theoretical!) airline!

coaties86
5th Mar 2008, 13:18
I'm in my final year at university and I've been set a project to setup my own airline. That is preparing a business plan and completing an ops manual as if I was really applying for an AOC.
The only problem is I don't know that much about the airline industry!:bored:
We've got to run a scheduled airline from Blackpool to the Isle of man, and we're also running a route to Luton from BPL. Using a Let 410.

Any suggestions as to how I go about this, feel free...!
:ugh:

Yak97
5th Mar 2008, 13:37
Send me a PM and I'll try and assist.

Rgds Yak97

TwinAisle
5th Mar 2008, 13:41
Same applies for me - happy to help, drop me a PM.

TA

xtypeman
5th Mar 2008, 14:08
Sounds like someone from Manx...... Have you been pushed out and want to set up in competion. Or are Manxi worried about not having a UK AOC(EASA). Give up on the LET410.....

coaties86
5th Mar 2008, 14:16
as I say I'm a uni student at the min.
However your theory is very interesting as the lecturer who set this project did have an airline running from BPL to IOM.....that went bust!!
What aircraft would you suggest?

MUFC_fan
5th Mar 2008, 17:04
I would suggest a BAe 146 to LTN and a Let 410 to IOM - simply because it is proven to work!;)

If you need any help! Just post me a PM!:ok:

AvEnthusiast
6th Mar 2008, 04:35
And when you prepared all this and passed your thesis, then apply for a real AOC as well and do the budget rising.

dada
6th Mar 2008, 06:28
MUFC - you shopuld have added 'with some stats' to your offer of help as that's what you seem to excel in. dont get into talking about powerplants again

Dan D'air
6th Mar 2008, 09:27
I am slightly embarrassed at admitting to knowing this, but there is a virtual airline program for the PC. I can't remember the title, but an internet search should help. Failing that, maybe try the spotters forum!!

Good luck regardless!

Cheers, DD.

atmosphere
6th Mar 2008, 10:26