PDA

View Full Version : Flying in the USA

Comanche
2nd Oct 2000, 16:49
I lived in the USA for a while (CO) and would love to live there. It is the every returning story, no right to live there yet. I play the greencard lottery every year, so statistically within about 10 years I should get one. Now, the question is once I have a right to work in your great country, whether or not is has been worth all the effort. Could someone please answer the following questions:

* what are my chances of being hired with a major? I have a Masters degree, 1500 TT 1100 hrs 737 heavy jet with commerial airline at the moment (British Airways franchise). No PIC time. I know some people at UA.

* which bases are the most likely ones you can bid and get with majors such as UA, DL, AA? I'd rather stay away from places like Chicago, LA, Newark. Would Denver or Atlanta be possible??

Many thanks

Oil Captain
2nd Oct 2000, 16:54
For years now Atlanta has been rated as one of the busiest airports in the world. They had more air movements last year than Chicago so why would you rather base there?

As far as I know there are no guarantees of anything in life you take your shot accept the risk factors and possible consequences and hope for the best.

Good luck

inverted flatspin
3rd Oct 2000, 08:18
Pilot hiring is strong among the majors at the moment and it looks like it will continue to be strong for a number of years.

good luck in the lottery and if that falls through you can always marry an American.

As I'm sure you are aware you will require a FAA ATP to work for a US airline so make sure that you have all the requirements completed before you begin looking for a job.

The last person I know that got hired by American Airlines had the following experience.

1100 helicopters (former marine corp pilot)
450 single engine PIC
2000 multi turbine SIC (Citation)
750 multi PIC (citation)

this kind of experience is typical for a new hire at the majors. Average age is 38.

hope this helps.