PDA

View Full Version : Qualifications? Degrees? what to do?

wildone
20th Feb 2008, 14:58
Hi all,

I'm interested in becoming a commercial pilot, However I don't know which is the best enter the the aviation industry.

I have considered doing a 3 year BSc degree in aviation through a university

I have also considered going to an intensive flight school (eg. complete training from never flown a plane to a commercial pilot in 2 yrs or something similar) without doing a degree in avaition.

I understand that the number flight hours is obviously one of the most important aspects to pilots, but I know almost nothing about what the interviewers from major airlines are looking for in potential pilots in terms of qualifications. Pilots with degrees have an advantage i assume, but does it matter what type of degee. For example does it have to be an aviation degree? I have a degree in the medical/science area is that just as useful? Would it be worth going back to university to do a degree in avaition now? What would you do if you were me?

Any advice from you pro's would be very appreciated. Thanks in advance

Re-Heat
20th Feb 2008, 19:25
a) How interested are you - you should commit to this career if you are truly interested - take some lessons towards a PPL for example to ensure that you are capable, and talk to people at a flying club who will give you a better sense of what you should do.

b) Do you really want to spend extra time doing a degree that is not necessary, combined with the licence, which is all you need to get the job? If you want to go to university, study an academic subject in which you are interested - otherwise save your time and money and get on with getting a licence. An aviation degree is only useful to you if you have little other life experience to talk about to the interviewer - nevertheless it is certainly not to be sniffed at if you are actually interested in what is studied on those degrees in addition to the ATPL subjects...