PDA

View Full Version : Wireless connection help needed

fireflybob
8th Feb 2008, 08:43
When I look for a wirless connection on my Dell laptop it says:-

No wireless networks were found in range. Make sure the wireless switch on your computer is on. To see an updated list, click "Refresh network list".

When I "Refresh network list" I get the same message again.

I am not an expert - can anyone tell me how to restore my wirless connection?

Thanks for any help.

Saab Dastard
8th Feb 2008, 08:54
Make sure the wireless switch on your computer is on

This might be a clue!

SD

fireflybob
8th Feb 2008, 09:02
Yes I know I am not really that stupid but I am a mere pilot LOL

Ok read the manual and found how to switch it on. It's a long saga but I got a wireless router on my main pc but gave up trying to get my laptop to communicate with same - perhaps I will try again when my mind is clearer!

Keef
8th Feb 2008, 11:15
Is the wireless router on your main PC, or on the modem that connects you to the Internet?

If you have a choice about where to connect it, I'd feed the modem to the wireless router, and hard-wire the desktop PC to the router bit. That leaves you with the wireless which can be configured however you decide.

I never got on with wireless or routers connected to the PC - it adds a level of complexity that doesn't help. Connect the PC to the router, not vice-versa.

Andy Rylance
11th Feb 2008, 11:26
Sounds like your wireless card/adaptor is deactivated on that computer.

Control panel time to switch it back on.

Wader2
11th Feb 2008, 11:50
Download a copy of Netstumbler. This will then show if you can see your wireless router.

I had an issue where the router worked with the wired PC but not to the laptop over the wireless. Took the laptop for a walk, and Netstumbler confirmed that there were other wireless networks available, is the laptop card was enabled and working.