PDA

View Full Version : Lookin' for a start!!

avionic lad
7th Feb 2008, 00:28
Hello all,

I'm currently on course at AST Perth sitting my B2 full 2 year course. I've finished all exams and am working my OJT period of 8 weeks to finish off the course. I've four weeks left of this and then i'm looking for a start at a company. It seems people in my position often struggle to get a start once finished college... Unfortunately i have no aircraft experience but my 8 weeks OJT placement on Embraer-145's. But i'm hard working, enthusiastic and willing to learn! With 2 years relevent work experience i should be elegible for a full B2 License.

Ideally i'd like to get work back home(Ireland) but would take a job anywhere! If anyone has any contacts in Ireland or anywhere else, or any suggestions for that matter, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

I appreciate any thoughts....

Regards.

munster
7th Feb 2008, 01:10
:ok:How's your capacity for drinking tea and extended periods playing on the X BOX?

avionic lad
7th Feb 2008, 01:35
I only drink coffee and my xbox is not up to much. but like i said, i'm enthusiastic and willing to learn. Thanks for the advice!

ericferret
7th Feb 2008, 10:54
I think you should apply to the larger operators e.g SRT at Dublin or maybe the Aberdeen based helicopter companies.

Your need a job where you can pick up experience without being hung out to dry.

Probably some form of heavy maintenance would be best. With all due respect I think you would struggle on a busy line station.

Best of luck, there is a shortage of B2 engineers.

Don't get railroaded into a job beyond your capabilities, the licence is hard to get don't put it at risk.

Yoth
7th Feb 2008, 18:14
Flybe at Exeter are in the Embraer 145 market. They always seem to be after licensed/un-licensed engineers. B2 is definately the way forward and is in high demand.
Claire Darby is the HR boss at Flybe, last I heard.
http://www.flybe.com/vacancies/engineering.htm