PDA

View Full Version : Jobs with a cargo airline

WO
21st Sep 2001, 02:09
Hi,
I realise that this post might be better suited to the wannabies forum, but, is it any easier to get work with a cargo airline versus a PAX airline? I'm a wannabie pilot myself, and to be honest, right from day 1, i've much preferred the idea of working for a cargo line, mainly because you don't have to give the standard " Good morning, this is your captain speaking..." speech to drilling equipment or crates!
Also, is the recent events in the aviation industry likely to hit freight lines as hard as BA/Virgin etc?

WO

High Volt
26th Sep 2001, 01:56
You should always say goodnight to the parcels - it brings luck.

geronimo
26th Sep 2001, 16:19
I do not see why it should be any easier to get a job with a cargo operator. Whether its Pax or cargo the standards of flight crew recruitment should not differ.

For goodness sake let's not degrade the image of cargo pilots...

Maybe you're thinking about flying cargo in Africa...?

GEEEROOONIIIMOOO

LGL737
26th Sep 2001, 16:39
You want to fly cargo, because you dont want to talk to the passengers over the PA???

Rgds
LGL

"If you screw up just this much, youŽll be flying a cargoplane full of rubber dog**** out of Hong Kong"

Cardinal Puff
27th Sep 2001, 06:54
You'd be surprised at the number of airline crew trying to get into the better freight operators such as CLX. So far no luck....

WO
27th Sep 2001, 17:20
Obviously I was joking about the PA bit, but on the whole, i'd much rather fly Cargo than Pax. At the end of the day, people will always need things send from a to b, but the pax carriers are subject to the slightest changes in public opinion. Also, you guys get to visit places that are off the beaten track, which seems a lot more appealing than flying 200 beered up Chelsea fans to Malaga!
One last question though, do you still need an ATPL to fly cargo? I was under the impression that you only need that to fly large numbers of PAX?

LGL737