PDA

View Full Version : Getting my laptop back to how it was when I bought it.

gingernut
13th Jan 2008, 12:46
Gingerette has a 1 yr old laptop which caught a virus and now doesn't work.

When it starts up it says,

"Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM
Select r at the first screen to start repair.

We havn't got a disc as windows was already on the computer when we got it.

Any idea's? thanks.

johnriketes
13th Jan 2008, 13:13
I am no expert by any means, however I think you will need the setup disks. You maybe able to get copies from someone with the same make and brand of laptop, or from the outlet it was purchased.

Hope this helps. Good luck.

kwachon
13th Jan 2008, 13:41
Try F8 during the boot sequence then see if you can get into safe mode. this will let you get to system restore and maybe you can restore to a date before the virus attack.

frostbite
13th Jan 2008, 14:33
If it's a Dell, try F2.

spannersatcx
13th Jan 2008, 15:40
has it got a recovery partition on it, factory restore can be done from there.

Dysonsphere
14th Jan 2008, 19:54
You should have got a recovery disc with it, did you buy it new. If not go buy a full copy of XP stick it in the dvd drive and turn on , follow instructions from there. Be warned this will delete all data on hard drive. Make sure to remove all partions on the hard drive the instructions for that are on the Windows install screen.

gingernut
15th Jan 2008, 09:51
Thanks chaps, am on the case:)

gingernut
19th Jan 2008, 08:06
Oh dear, tried the F8 button which gave me some options including "Last known good configuration" but I'm still getting this message,

"Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

I've got the product key for XP, (it's on the bottom of the computer), but no disc.