PDA

View Full Version : Cabin crew ---> Pilot?

Georgina Stokes
30th Nov 2000, 17:08
Hi!
I am currently studying for my A-Levels at college. My ambition is to become a pilot, but am considering working as a flight attendant whilst I apply for sponsorship etc... I am really keen to work cabin crew or a year or two, primarily to travel and to meet new and interesting people etc along the way.
I currently work as a waitress in a restaurant part-time (which I really enjoy!), so I have experience of customer service (and good practice at being diplomatic!!) :)
What I am keen to find out is... Do many flight attendants progress on to become pilots? Is it a good idea to gain experience through working as cabin crew for a while or not? What do airlines look for in potential cabin crew?
Any information, advice and opinions would be gratefully recieved!!
Thanks,

George. ;)

[This message has been edited by Georgina Stokes (edited 30 November 2000).]

PaulDeGearup
30th Nov 2000, 18:51
"to meet new and interesting people etc along the way" ?

Ok so why do you want to meet pilots then :) :):

Seriously, there are one or two but it's a struggle financially unless you can get some from of sponsorship. The quickest way is to do an approved course but that costs; check whether or not you can get some assistance by the way of a grant for vocational training. That would bring the cost down to around 18 - 20K which equates roughly to what you could expect your debt to be if you have a student loan. Additionally, if you have a degree it's a backup should you fail. Finally, don't do anything until you have a Class 1 medical. Good Luck.

Georgina Stokes
30th Nov 2000, 18:59
Thanks for your reply... (I don't doubt that you are a fun and interesting person!!)
I have considered the route you have suggested...Its just a big decision to make, oweing to financial reasons etc!
Anyway, thanks again.

George. :)

Next Generation PSR
1st Dec 2000, 04:59