PDA

View Full Version : Lockheed L 188 Electra

wombat four
4th Dec 2007, 11:07
Dec. 6, 1957, this MAGIC Pilots Aeroplane, first flew.

It had some problems early on, but these were fixed. It went on to be the, P3, Orion.

The L-188, was a pilots airplane.

As a pilot, I loved it.

Wombat 4

WHBM
4th Dec 2007, 15:34
I'm sure it was fun to fly.

However it missed its market in the usual Lockheed way (L1649, Electra, Tristar all did in turn) and was a prop when the market wanted jets. It was the only mainstream turboprop a US manufacturer ever designed. Got relegated to decidedly short routes early on which it was really too large for. Made a good freighter afterwards but there were more frames around than takers.

the ideal aircraft of the 1950s-60s would have been :

- designed by Lockheed
- assembled by Boeing
- sales and marketing by Douglas

Daysleeper
4th Dec 2007, 20:32
Good spot Wombat,

I spent many a happy hour in the electra.

I also spent a few hours crXpping myself when everything was falling apart.

phantom32068
20th Jul 2008, 20:06
TPI International airways bought three L-188 electras for Ansett and one of the three first flew by three of us in November 1984 and the other two followed. These three had the wombat on their nose of the aircraft. N 358Q, N365Q, N357Q. N357Q crashed in Kansas City downtown killing all three on board. H McCollum

silverstreak
24th Jul 2008, 14:53
Although in cargo config, I flew many a sector with Atlantic Air Cargo on their Electra runs.

All I can say is Magnificent Machine and a wonderful bird!

PS - Lockheed carried this trait on, with the L1011! :ok:

wombat four
26th Jul 2008, 09:58
Phantom,

I have no idea which Wombat, that is, 1,2,3 or ,4 became the ones mentioned by you from memory but I have the info. in my shed.

VH-RMA was, Wombat 1, RMB was W2, RMC was W3 and RMG was WOMBAT FOUR.