PDA

View Full Version : Which path to follow ? EASA or CASA

Hasherucf
30th Nov 2007, 11:37
Hi guys

I am an Australian 2nd year apprentice AME working at a GA organisation. Currently I attend a TAFE on block release to complete a Cert IV Aero skills course.

Recently I started taking CASA exams (QA, BA, FA, GG, etc). But we have just been told by TAFE that we are going to be trained under the new EASA 66 system. We where to be trained under the B3 license which seems targeted to the specific Australian GA industry but since this syllabus isn’t complete we will be doing the B1 theory.

My question is should I continue the CASA exams or just stick with this new EASA system? What would be my benefits either way? Should I just try for a license under the old CASA system and update it on the grandfather rule?

There’s a great deal of frustration being felt at my level with no reliable sources of information. Information is slowly trickling out on the CASA website.

Thanks

Twitter n Bisted
1st Dec 2007, 10:34
To do or not to do.
My question is should I continue the CASA exams or just stick with this new EASA system? What would be my benefits either way? Should I just try for a license under the old CASA system and update it on the grandfather rule?

A qualification is a qualification. GET all you can
Do the current basics then get as many licences as you can. I know the basics are a pain and now costly but many people have done the lot in a couple of sittings ( I did). Then go to the USA and pass the FAA A & P while your brain is still fresh with the knowledge and claim the holiday as a tax deduction. :ok:

Many operators will remain or stay with the old system for as long as they can as change usually has a cost involved.
An example while not pertinent to your side of the industry is QF will keep its current fleet 767 737 744 747 under the old system ICAO type 2 and anything new will be EASA 100.66 style. e.g. A380 787 etc.