PDA

View Full Version : Heavy and Outsize (project) cargo Request for Information

Tragic Rug
16th Nov 2007, 08:12
To all the Freight Dogs,

I am currently a student working on my MSc in transport planning and management. At present I am planning to write my dissertation on the Heavy and outsize (project) cargo market. The only downside is that I need to get hold of some statistical data to work on and it is here that I am drawing a bit of a blank.

My search has thus far covered the internet (including Pprune), the journals and magazines and I have also contacted several individuals and companies. One of the problems I am coming up against is that obviously a lot of information on the Heavy cargo market is commercially sensitive.

I would really like to know what proportion of the cargo market is made up of heavy and outsize cargo and where is it coming from and going to etc. Just how busy are the aircraft in the market? It would also be useful to know how much a block hour of operation costs fro AN-124s and IL-76 etc.

The obvious market leaders are Volga Dnepr and Polet, both of whom seem to be doing quite well. I am also interested in the notion of the BC-17X possibly entering into the mix and what this might mean to the competitors.

If anyone can suggest a good source of information or data, then I would be very grateful if you could PM me the details.

There are a great deal of newspaper and journal articles on the Heavy and Outsize cargo market by Phil Hastings and Roger Turney. It would be great if someone could send me their contact details or e-mail addresses.

Regards,

Tragic Rug

VP8
19th Nov 2007, 23:18
I think you will find that Polet come 3rd behind Volga Dnepr then Antonov Airlines / Antonov Design Bureau in the market leadership stakes also Volga and Antonov Airlines are marketed by Ruslan International in a joint venture.

VEEPS

Tragic Rug
20th Nov 2007, 12:30
Thanks VP8. Any information gratefully received.

Regards,

Tragic Rug

RevMan2