PDA

View Full Version : Hearing & Blood Pressure question

covec
22nd Oct 2007, 17:13
Just had a military aircrew medical.

BP 143/80 (normally I am about 120 to 130/80: I am 45). Is this OK for retaining my Class 1?

My hearing has deteriorated from 105 to 45 across the HF & LF values - I cannot remember which one returned the 105. Puts me in the RAF's H2 bracket.

Question is: am I OK for Class 1 as I am a part time FI (with current Class 1)at present who is hoping to leave the Forces for airline work?

Thank you for your time.

Regards

Thylakoid
22nd Oct 2007, 17:46
I am not a doctor, but I take pills to control my blood pressure and keep my Class I.

The reading you got is borderline; however, before doctors diagnose you as being hypertense, they must check your blood pressure over a period of time. One reading is not enough, because you could be suffering from what they call "the white coat syndrome," i.e., your BP goes up at the medical office and it is a quite normal event.

You would have to check with your local medical examiner to know the limits for Class one.

Here in the UAE, they use an upper limit of 135/85.

All the best

Knoxy777
22nd Oct 2007, 19:00
Quoting JAR FCL part 3..

"When the blood pressure at examination
consistently exceeds 160 mmHg systolic and/or
95 mmHg diastolic, with or without treatment, the
applicant shall be assessed as unfit."

I take medication for high BP myself and as long as it stays below 160/95 then there are no probs. I was having about 165/90 until I started medication, but now is around 145/80.

The hearing standards are given in the link below
http://www.caa.co.uk/default.aspx?catid=49&pagetype=90&pageid=533

covec
23rd Oct 2007, 23:09
Thanks guys - the BP is good news but the hearing is not.

Cheers

nurjio
27th Oct 2007, 16:30
....Pardon?....

rumki8
7th Nov 2007, 08:56