PDA

View Full Version : Simulator or not for IR training?

Martin1234
24th Sep 2007, 21:52
If cost is about the same, which of the alternatives as of below should be preferred for the JAR SE IR(A) rating and why?

1) 50 h of instrument time in an aeroplane

2) 35 h of FNPT II and 15 h of instrument time in an aeroplane

Canadapilot
25th Sep 2007, 00:39
If cost is the same i'd do it all in the aircraft...but i'd be surprised if the costs of each were similar. Unless you're doing the IR in a C152! That said, i found the Sim a far more relaxed way of learning instrument flying...and was certainly glad i'd done a lot before i got in the air when the multi-tasking really begins!

v1valarob
25th Sep 2007, 05:25
Same here, cant see how training in a sim + plane would be cheaper than all plane. I did my training in a sim first, and then moved to a seminole. As a brand new instructor, I think its going to be tough to teach someone in the air, and would much prefer to get the basics down on the ground where you can hit "freeze" at any time and explain whats going on.

-Rob

asuweb
25th Sep 2007, 09:18
A mix of sim and air time. It's far easier to learn the procedures and methods in the sim, without having to worry about the real world environment. If you mess up an approach in the sim, a press of a button puts you right back at the start of the approach, and you do it again. Not so in the aircraft where you have to book slots etc. Sims also have a pause button, so you can discuss certain points with your instructor at the time, look at the printouts and see where you may be going wrong.

RVR800
25th Sep 2007, 15:29
Do it in the aircraft - if its the same cost its a no brainer.

helimutt
25th Sep 2007, 15:56