PDA

View Full Version : Spine Problems will it affect the Class 1 Medical

bluefeatherfly
16th Sep 2007, 05:09
Good Day everybody,

I'm a newbie and I would like to ask if my plan to join the aviation will be affedted if I have moderate scoliosis.

I have 24 degrees dextroscoliosis and 12 degrees levoscoliois?

I really want to join the aviation industry but with my condition.
Do you think I'm still qualified?

Do you know any websites where I can verify or review what types of examinations on Class 1 or even Class 2?

Thank you everybody and looking forward to your response.

aviationascent
17th Sep 2007, 07:16
dont know if this helps but i was diagnosed with Scheurmanns ( spelling) disease at 14. i don't get symptoms or backpain anymore. i just went for my class one med and failed due to a heart condition that i have just had surgery to fix. nothing was mentioned about my back though. that said, i'm not sure i mentioned it :oh:.:O

Jump Complete
19th Sep 2007, 14:06
bluefeatherfly:
I have scoliosis and hold a class one medical. I can't remember the figures but my spine was getting pretty bad before they did the opp at 13 (in 1989) (Prior to the opp from the age of 9 I wore scotch-cast vests to hold the back straight; if the opp is down too early it stunts growth.) I have a permnement rod in my spine.
I also had neuro-fibromatosis (don't know if that is the right spelling) which in my case meant my lower right leg was bent and thin. I had a bone graph operation at 18 months.
Both these operations were very successful and I have no practical problems with them.
When I went for my initial class one, I had already been flying gliders for two years so I knew I was physically capable of flying an aircraft. My attitude, which may have been a tad arrogant, was "My back and my leg history is irrelevent, test my heart and eyesight like everyone else and give me the medical."