PDA

View Full Version : Oxford best chance of employment?

mattince
1st Aug 2001, 20:04
Hoping to go to Oxford to train for ATPL later this year.

I was wondering if having an Oxford training will really make a difference when I apply for an airline job. Does it make me much more employable?

I would appreciate any comments on this as I am trying to decide between Oxford and Cabair. Thanks!

gurnzee
2nd Aug 2001, 18:06
Oxford, supposedly

Lou
4th Aug 2001, 03:25
Mattince,

I graduated from Cabair in early 99. If you work hard and get good results, it pays. They put me forward for three airlines and I had a job within two weeks of leaving.

Good luck....... :D :D

DoWeHaveLiftOff?
6th Aug 2001, 18:23
Lou,

Did you do the integrated route or the modular?

Thanking in advance for your reply.

DWHLO

Lou
10th Aug 2001, 18:03
DWHLO,

CAP 509. Took about 13 months to complete. From the 14 fixed wing students on the course on two (to the best of my knowledge) did not get an airline job.

Cheers L :cool:

StressFree
11th Aug 2001, 20:36
Gentlemen,
I've been in this business for over 15 years, if I was hiring someone (and I have been involved in this several times) then where they trained would be at the bottom of my list. At the end of the day all qualified pilots hold the same licences...........I accept that some schools are better than others buts its a minor issue.
Its the individual that counts; whatever you do dont go to interviews and try to get a job on the basis of having trained at a certain school. Do your homework - know the firm, the routes, the types etc. This counts far, far more than dining out on where you trained.
To all you guys out there training - best of luck, its a great time to be getting into this game, stick with it, its well worth all the grief and cash.

:D

Rommel
13th Aug 2001, 05:27
Agree with Stress Free,it makes NO difference which school you went to.