PDA

View Full Version : Transit at AMS

Alanwsg
14th Sep 2007, 05:53
Tomorrow I'm flying LHR-AMS-LIMA.
Sorry to sound like a complete newbie but this is the first time I've ever actually had to transit between flights, I usually fly straight to where I want to go.
What's the procedure at Amsterdam?
I don't have to go through security again do I?

RoyHudd
14th Sep 2007, 06:34
You DO go through security again, so don't buy any water/booze until you've been through the second, superfluous search. The goons are no better/worse than anywhere else in the benighted security world.

KLM promote travel through AMS but don't inform pax of this process. Disappointing.:uhoh:

MrSoft
14th Sep 2007, 06:51
Other than this, AMS is perfect for Transit. Disembark, find screen, find next gate, stroll to gate.

Once you're there, they will sell you a bottle of water but seal it in an approved bag; security will let this through so you can drink it later onboard.

Last time I went through I watched a party of confused Korean businessmen dumping expensive cognac into the Green Bin :sad:. "Say bye bye sir", quipped the security guard. Those Dutch and their sense of humour eh.

pacer142
14th Sep 2007, 08:32
So far as I can tell, you *cannot* buy water to take on board at AMS except in the Schengen area (terminal, not gate security) and the D6 bus gates which are a small terminal in their own right. Only the duty-free shops have the sealed bags, not anywhere selling food etc.

This always struck me as rather silly.

Alanwsg
14th Sep 2007, 08:55
Ok thanks,
The reason I asked is I'm sure I read somewhere (probably on this BB) that you can take the "wrong route" and end up outside by mistake. I thought someone said there was a badly signposted route that takes you straight into the transit lounge without having to pass security again.

fyrefli
14th Sep 2007, 21:41