PDA

View Full Version : Is 30 too old???

dazza1977
28th Aug 2007, 20:36
Hi all,

I have a question that has probably been asked many times before, so I will keep it brief so as not to bore.

I have been working as a successful composer for the last 8 years but have come to a point in my life were I need a change for a variety of reasons. I have always dreamed that flying would be my ideal career but feel that I am too old to start training in order to eventually secure a job with an airline.

I have seen sponsorship offers with the a flying School Cabair. You have to teach with them for two years upon qualifying as an instructor, and then pay what ever fees would be left to fully qualify/train to make the transiton to airline pilot once teaching duties are up. Not even sure if this is a good route??

Am I wasting my time thinking about this as a career at 30? or should I follow my other choice of training in Law and eventually fly for fun? I am determined and dogged. I have to be coming from the job I am currently in.

All comments and advice really gratefully received as this is a real career change in my life that I will probably only get one shot at??

Dazza (sorry for the ramble!)

Niagra1
28th Aug 2007, 20:41
Hello there!

I am sure there will be plenty of posts on here, but i am also 30, like yourself.

I jacked it all in to go down the modular route, but at the last minute (long story) i was accepted on the CTC course going out in November to NZ.

Only you will know if it is what you REALLY want to do, it is by no means an easy industry to get into, there are plenty of threads on here saying the same thing.

I for one am going to give it my all, as i know it is what i want, and i guess it is like anything, you get out what you put in!

If it is what you want, you are not to old, in some ways i see the "extra" years as a bonus, more maturity, a previous career, worldly experience etc