PDA

View Full Version : Class 1 and Class 2 medicals

Roll off the top
16th Aug 2007, 20:00
I've been undergoing pilot medicals for the last 15 years from a variety of AME's, firstly for class 2 then class 1 when I got my instructor rating & CPL. Seems to be a considerable variation in what is actually carried out -the standard stuff is eyesight, heart/lung function etc. but beyond that it varies quite a bit. Some insist on strip to underpants, others its just shirt off. Various things are tested, or not. Often wondered how the girls go on at their medicals - is it the same in variability of checks, and is it done clothed or in bra and knickers?
Do tell girls!

aero junkie
18th Aug 2007, 23:42
Good question! I've been woundering my self what procceses they have to go through as well. One would think bra and panties and with a female medical examiner, Could be wrong through:cool:

Bob the Doc
19th Aug 2007, 08:04
For proper heart and lung examination. Patient needs to be stripped to the waist. In my considerable experience of listening to chests, the most common sources of extraneous noise that confuse the examination are clothing. Bras are especially bad as they 'creak' on chest movement and can sound like abnormal breathing sounds.