PDA

View Full Version : Tq, NR, SHP limits

spanner01
9th Aug 2007, 19:20
I am studying for my CPL(H) but am having difficulty understanding the engineering relationship between some of the piloting terms used, specifically: Torque, NR, SHP, Transmission limits and engine PPI’s.

I now understand what each of the terms mean individually, but how, for example, can you have more than 100% of anything, and how can engine or transmission SHP be used to calculate either TQ or NR? What does engine PPI 105% mean? Can engine SHP be used to calculate transmission limits?

Could someone please explain to me how these terms are derived and how they may be interlinked and calculated? Many Thanks

Spanner01

NickLappos
9th Aug 2007, 20:12
Confusing, huh? Some thoughts:

1) Each part of the drive train has a limit, and sometimes you hit one first before another (the first limit calculator in the EC products is a nice way to work thru this!) so transmission limits are expressed as if not connected to engines, although they are obviously directly related. Also, these limits might be different, so you have to have three eyes, one for transmission torque, one for engine torque and one for trees.

2) SHP is actualy not a limit (no gauge reads it and no test runs at it), it can be a rating (which pilots don't need to care about). SHP is however the power that is produced by a torque (which is a limit) times an rpm (also a limit). Just like horsepower is also a force times a velocity, or a weight lifted at a speed, torque time rpm is horsepower (or kilowatts). The engine/transmission system is running together, and it all "feels" the same torque (unless you are in a 222, where the mast torque is also a limit!)