PDA

View Full Version : Mechanic to Pilot........

andy.heli2006
29th Jul 2007, 19:17
Hello

I know it's all been discussed hundreds of times on here about "should I or shouldn't I" but it mostly seems to be people in the USA making the decisions and discussing it.

Does anyone have any recent experience with training towards the CPL with a view to future employment in England or Europe?

I'm an Ex Airforce Airframe Technician with 7 years experience on Puma and Super Puma, both military and civil. I've recently passed my PPL H and now life doesn't feel the same.!!!! Mooching about in the hangar just doesn't do it for me anymore. I used to enjoy watching the Lama and Kmax with the longline out of the window.............now I'm just jealous.......(I'm working in Switzerland)

So:-

1, Where do people train these days, USA or Europe?

2, Are jobs really as hard to find as people on here seem to make out? Will my Engineering history help me here? I'm 33, still got time I hope?

Would be good to hear from anyone with any experience training recently in England or Europe or maybe any engineers that fly now.

Andy

WLM
30th Jul 2007, 01:03
Hi Andy

33 is not old Mate, hang in there and you will get to your flying job. In the US as an example, it seems that bush work and slinging companies like engineer/pilot. For one it saves a bit of money, and 2 you do not have to convince 2 employees that remote work is good.
However your experience is on Puma/SuperP, so not so many in remote work.
I would say your best chance is to try Canada, do your CPL there, then hopefully something will come your way for your particular experience.
But really, you would make more money and live in far better conditions if you remained in your engineering profession.
It is a fact that qualified engineers can dictate their salaries...

Anyway good luck
Cheers
WLM

Heli-kiwi
30th Jul 2007, 04:34
Andy,