PDA

View Full Version : Maximum safe Glideslope/Localiser deflection.

Contacttower
15th Jul 2007, 08:32
I'm currently studying for my IMC rating and there is and a little bit of the ILS which I don't understand. I've got the IMC Confuser to help me with my learning and in it there's a question which asks:

'which of these diagrams represents the maximum safe deflection from the glide path'

It has four diagrams all with varying degrees of deflection. My understanding was that the answer is half scale, ie 2.5 divisons of the verticle scale and that is the answer given. However the diagram printed for the right answer shows the glide path bar apparently only 1.5 divisions of the verticle scale. Why is this?

low n' slow
15th Jul 2007, 10:39
Could it be so that it's only the localizer that is on the "maximum safe deflection"? If the question is "which diagram shows the maximum safe deflection", it doesn't really mean that both the LOC and the GS need to be at the max. As long as one of them is at it's maximum permitted deflection and all the other diagrams are showing a lesser degree of deflection, this will make the given answer correct. Do you understand what I'm trying to get at or am I just making it worse. You've got the right idea, but it's a matter of question technique...

dv8
15th Jul 2007, 11:05
From Standards Document 24, CAA
Guidance to Examiners in Type Rating Skill Tests and Proficiency Checks
Tracking
All except precision approach ± 5°
Precision approach half scale deflection azimuth and glidepath

Wingswinger
15th Jul 2007, 11:15
The origin of the info: ICAO Doc 8168 PANS-OPS Sect 4 Ch5