PDA

View Full Version : 767 Engine Out and autopilot?


QuEsT147
10th Jul 2007, 18:56
Hi all
Maybe a bit silly question:)
Is it possible to fly 767 with autopilot on one engine? Is it reliable, safe? What are your own experiences?
Thanks much for your answer:ok:
QUEsT147

TopBunk
10th Jul 2007, 19:11
Never flown the 767 myself, but I'd imagine that it is very capable, and probably able to Autoland to Cat3a limits on a single engine, just like the A320.

Is it safe - undoubtedly:rolleyes:

extreme P
10th Jul 2007, 19:54
Yes, manual thrust however.

flyboyike
10th Jul 2007, 20:28
Why wouldn't it be possible?

QuEsT147
10th Jul 2007, 20:42
I dont know:) As far as I know in 737 for example you turn AP off after engine failure, so I ask how is it on 767:)

dusk2dawn
11th Jul 2007, 00:19
From personal real life experience: the 767 goes fine on AP and OEI.

scotair
11th Jul 2007, 01:21
As a former instructor and line pilot for a US major on the 757/767, the autopilot works fine OEI. As for the 737, maybe your company procedures require the AP off OEI. I flew the 737-3/500 series with no requirement to have the AP off while OEI.

flyboyike
11th Jul 2007, 08:56
As far as I know in 737 for example you turn AP off after engine failure


Where did you read that?

TopBunk
11th Jul 2007, 09:24
I seem to remember from my days on the 737 (-2345 series), that with an EFATO you didn't engage the autopilot until aircraft clean, but thereafter it was fine all the way down to a Cat 1 DA/DH.

ironbutt57
11th Jul 2007, 09:47
Flies just fine, use of auto thrust prohibited...and you need to use the rudders...no rudder channel unless below 1500RA in the "app" mode...then the rudder is engaged and remains so throughout the approach, landing, or G/A mode...however be prepared the rudder channel goes away during g/a when another roll mode is selected it is not permitted to commence an autoland approach with one engine inoperative prior to being configured for landing, it is however permitted to continue an auto-land if the failure occurs during the approach...just use manual thrust..(catIIIA) hope this helps