PDA

View Full Version : New to Aviation

1a-tej
7th Jul 2007, 09:59
Hello fellow Aviators,

I am very new to your industry and am eager to undertake a CPL to fullfill a childhood addiction of flying, as I'm sure some of you can relate with! I require as much information as possible to assist in obtaining my CPL. Any help, hints, suggestions etc, on a professional basis would be very much appreciated!

Thankyou

Shaun

P.S. Thanks Red Snail.

1a-tej
8th Jul 2007, 00:05
Are there any "pilots" in this forum that can provide a helping hand with "relevant" support or information?

Thanks

Shaun

trolleydriver
8th Jul 2007, 00:28
i aint no me gramar to well, but it's never stopped me flying! come to think of it, its never made a rats ar#e of difference to my life. :ugh:

My advice would be to get the theory out of the way as early as possible, do a bit of flying, say upto GFPT, then hit the books and get the commercial theory passed. Then you can get on with the fun stuff. :ok:

plucka
8th Jul 2007, 05:02
First get your class1 medical out of the way. No point sitting all your exams and spending a small fortune on flying to then find you cant pass a medical.
Once that is out of the way, you want to get into the theroy. I would suggest you go to a school for this. Dont worry about your PPL subjects, go straight to your CPL subjects, they will cover PPL anyway.

At the risk of starting an arguement, my advice would be to find yourself an experienced pilot for your instructor, one with grey hair will be able to teach you alot more than an instructor that was on the course before yours. Unfortunately these are a little hard to come by.

I wish you all the best, the industry is looking at some interesting times ahead, all of which I think will be to the pilots advantage.

P.S. if there is anything wrong with my spelling or grammer FTDK I really dont give a :mad:.

glenb
8th Jul 2007, 10:34