PDA

View Full Version : 112v DC

ChristiaanJ
27th Jun 2007, 14:30
I've "done" aircraft electrics/electronics from WWII surplus in the '50s to Concorde to helicopters to Mirages.... and somehow I've never come across 112V DC.
Only just discovered the Valiant used it, and the Trident.
Does anybody here know the hows and whys and wherefores, and when it first came into use, and when it faded out?
Is it more or less UK-only, or do other examples exist?
Just curiosity (.... and wondering how I missed it all those years :rolleyes: ).

BelArgUSA
27th Jun 2007, 19:20
Salut Christiaan -
xxx
That "strange voltage" 112V DC was used in the DH Comet and SE Caravelle.
I have no operational experience with these types, but I did fly them a few times (just providing my body as co-pilot for ferry flights) long ago... in the 1970s. The 112V DC requirements was a nightmare for ground handlers.
xxx
The RR Avon engines fitted on the Comet and Caravelle had 112V DC electric starters. Both types had a large bank of multiple lead-acid 28V DC batteries in the belly, and the F/E had a selector for "Start 112V DC" or "Normal 28V DC"...
xxx
The batteries were switched by this selector to be connected in "series" to obtain 112V DC, for start purpose, then after engine start, the selector was moved back to normal (or parallel) to supply the aircraft 28V DC for most of the electrical requirements, and into inverters to produce 112V AC for various avionics.
xxx
United Airlines operated 20 SE210-6Rs in the USA, and while at their stations they had a ground transformer/rectifier to change the regular 115V AC ground power units, these airplanes often carried a portable unit when flying to other destinations.
xxx
I had old manuals from Comet 4C (Argentina) and Caravelle (United) but they probably ended in trash somewhere, so I can only inform you with what I remember from them.
xxx