View Full Version : Carriage of fuel regulations

r44flyer
13th Jun 2007, 17:45
Hi all,

I'll be following this up with the CAA asap but was wondering if anyone can give me a straight answer on here first. I'm a complete novice in this matter...

What are the regulations regarding the carriage of barrelled fuel in an aircraft? We have neither time nor money to install a ferry tank fit so we propose to carry fuel in barrels (or similar temporary tanks) and pump it into the tanks on the ground where avgas is not available.

If carried in a G registered aircraft, do the regulations extend further than the CAA, therefore having implications for international carriage? Or, is it UK aircraft, UK rules for the duration of the flight? (It's round the world and Russia is the problem re fuel availability - with a suggested 3 month lead time for shipping it in in advance, we have run out of time for that option too!)

Thanks in advance for any advice.

On-MarkBob
4th Jul 2007, 22:00
I once took a BN2A islander to Malaysia. We made a wooden cradle for four 45 gallon oil drums. We specified the type that has both a screw on top at the end of the drum and one in the middle on the side of the drum but opposite the cap on the end, if you know what I mean.
The cradle was made from wood and secured to the floor, the drums were strapped to the cradle. The fuel pick-off was via the cap on the end of each drum, suitably modified with an appropriate fitting. This cap was obviously positioned at the bottom so the fuel would flow. The barrels being laid on thier sides in the cradle. Thus the cap on the side of the drum was now at the top and was used to fill the drum. Get the picture?
Each drum had a bendix reciprocating fuel pump secured to the cradle and was plumbed into the crossfeed line of the main wing tanks. The operating switches were secured at the pilots end of the whole rig, just behind the pilots seat. Obviously a suitable C/B protected power supply was conncted.