PDA

View Full Version : Does the UK CAA care?

Banzai Eagle
11th Jun 2007, 17:27
This weeks Flight Intl, Letters

"I am a commercial pilot working for a low cost Company, and have been allocated two home bases: Birmingham and Manchester.
Under these rules it is up to me to make my way to either of these bases and
to be there on time even if when on minimum rest (12hrs off).
The return journey between these bases can easily be up to 4 hrs, and so I have just 8hr at home in which to eat,sleep and recuperate before setting off back to work.
We now have two types of Pilots: those who travel and are tired all the time, and those who pay for Hotels are are poor all the time. This situation is intolerable, so how does the UK CAA allow this to happen. Does it care about safety?"

And the definition of an "Alternate Base" as described in CAP371
This is designed to allow crews to report at an alternate base allowed within an are allowing 90 mins travelling time to both the main base of employment and that alternate base. A notional and additional duty time, counted as positioning shall not then apply; given the following conditions.

Crewmembers shall nominate a place of rest within the above area.

The duty will commence and the max FDP will be based on the report time and airport notified to the start of the previous rest period.

Whilst not a Flight safety issue, operators may find that such a variation is most effectively implemented on a voluntary basis

Operators wishing to apply for the variation, valid for an initial period of six months should contact the assigned CAA FOI

My questions;

Did name and address supplied sign up for a dual base.
If yes, what's the problem, or is it me?.

Dual base between MAN and BHX is pushing it, 90 mins between each on a good day...Slightly surprised the CAA would allow it esp for a loco

ZeBedie
11th Jun 2007, 18:04
I'm truly shocked - RAC route planner shows 1h 36m by the quickest route and the traffic can be terrible, of course.