PDA

View Full Version : Building hours

youngun
30th May 2007, 17:58
Hi everyone.

got two questions

I need some advice on how to build hours. I have a frozen ATP and just over 300 hours and i am currently studying for my instructors. I realy don't want to do instruction, was wondering if there might be an alternative way (thinking of flying C210's in Namibië).

Will a frozen ATP be enough to help me get a decent job, or will I have to better qualify myself? (accept for more hours or a multi engine rating)

any feedback would be much appreciated.:)

Icarus208
30th May 2007, 18:34
Hey

Doing your instructors is definately one option. It will surely help you in the future. My suggestion is get your instructors for the time being and when there is work for you in Namibia on a C210 then take that oppurtunity. Or if you want to go to Botswana then that is also an option.

Just remember that Botswana is quite tough to get in and you need to spend a long time in Maun backpacking and eating baked beans and tuna out of a can before you actually get paid..that is if you can find a job quite easily. Dont get me wrong, Bots flying is great but initially you need a big wallet to support yourself before getting the actual moola.

Namibia is also a great place to fly and you get so much hours in a very short time...that is if you work for the right company. There are many operators that can offer you the job. If you fax youre CV through once dont think that is it. Fax it through every month cause lots of those operators put your CV on file 101 aka bottom of drawer or Bin. Ive seen it first hand. Perserverance will bear fruit eventually.