PDA

View Full Version : Modular Route with Loads of Questions!

princepilot
29th May 2007, 15:00
Hi,
I am 29 and really have decided that i want a career in aviation.
I cant afford the integrated route , and can only barely afford the modular.
Could anybody answer me these questions?

What is the best order to do things?
I will have the funds when i am 30 , how long would it take to train to get my frozen atpl (full time training is possible)
Would i get an airline job being over 30?
Do i need 5 gcse's grade C or above (like you do for the integrated course?)
After getting my fatpl , would hour building abroad (spain) count towards my flight time so i can build hours?
I know its a few questions, but really have decided its what i want to do

Regards
Princepilot

garywoodrow
29th May 2007, 15:15
i'm no expert but im sure you don't need any GCSE's to get a fATPL as long as you have a good knowledge of maths and physics (GCSE Standard) and airlines don't require them if yu have a fATPL. I dont see any reason why you wouldnt get a job being 30 and yes, hour building in spain would count towards you hours after your fATPL and would give you a bettter chance of being employed.

As for the best order to do things, it depends on your situation and preference. i'm doing it in this order:
Jar Class 1 Medical
PPL
Night Rating
ATPL Exams
Hours Building (95hrs PiC)
IMC
CPL & M/E Course
IRAll this amounts to around £34k, but will probly need an extra £3k for other costs.

I think training will last just under 2 years.
Hope this helps.

Gary

wbryce
29th May 2007, 18:24
34k is quite optimistic IMO for the UK...40-45k would be a bit more realistic. The ME CPL/IR alone is roughly 23k inclusive. I understand your feeling a bit old but 29-30yrs old is nothing to worry about, if you qualify in 2 years time, then you still have 33 years of flying to look forward to.

garywoodrow
29th May 2007, 18:32