PDA

View Full Version : QF's shares

Flying Spaniard
9th May 2007, 07:45
Hi,
Now that the trading restrictions have been lifted and the deal has been binned i expected to see the share price drop to numbers close to before the bid
the price today for a share is at $5.230 almost a dollar more than before the bid, has Qantas done that well in the space of a few months to justify its increase?

22-Nov-06 4.35 5.25 4.88 5.00 64,600,500 5.00
21-Nov-06 4.22 4.38 4.26 4.35 12,403,200 4.35

I am no expert at the stockmarket so could someone please explain to me why the shares didnt take a tumble?

Thanks!

The_Cutest_of_Borg
9th May 2007, 08:11
They didn't tumble because there is a good chance of another takeover bid, pitched at the same level. Some are saying that any takeover bid would have to be at a higher level, so the takeover premium remains.

Interestingly, parts of the Corporations act dealing with these sorts of things appear to say that because APA has twice made re-bid noises at critical times in the last few days, they are now compelled to go through with it. These parts of the act are designed to stop market manipulation...e.g. keeping the share price high after a failed bid in order to your money back.

Flying Spaniard
9th May 2007, 08:16
Thank you for clarifying this for me.

So what happens to the share if they do not come back with another offer?

I'm not a conspiracy theorist but could it be possible that Qantas planned this whole saga all along to artificially increase its share price?

Capt Kremin
9th May 2007, 08:19
Market forces would determine the price like any other share. They could go up, they could go down, sorry but my crystal ball is not working;)

lk978
9th May 2007, 09:16
for my two cents,