PDA

View Full Version : Pilot Training Petition

Airbus38
25th Apr 2007, 10:34
Hi chaps,

I don't know how effective these things are, and using the search nothing sprang up as this obviously having been posted here before but I don't suppose it can do any harm.

I came across this e-petition for support for pilot training, and whilst you may have differing views some of you may like to sign it.

http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/Pilot-training/?signed=a9433f7.120509

As I say, if you don't agree you don't have to add your name, and if you do then it's a 2 minute job.

Regards,
A38

dom462
25th Apr 2007, 17:59
Being an economics graduate, I would say that government support would be wrong and unnecessary. There is a big difference between pilots and doctors.
There are more than enough trainee pilots coming through that meet the current demands of the airline industry. Also, airlines are in the private sector, unlike the NHS.
I would not support any government that intervened like this in private sector employment markets.

scroggs
25th Apr 2007, 18:06
It is for the industry to support trainee pilots, not government. Government should never be involved in underwriting private industry. If you want to petition anyone, petition British Airways, Monarch, Thomsonfly, BMI, easyJet, Jet2, and all the others who pay nothing towards the training of new entrants to this industry, but expect them to shell out the dosh themselves.

Scroggs

Airbus38
25th Apr 2007, 21:35
It's not my petition, I'm just passing on the fact that the petition exists. Personally, I feel that this requires re-wording and targeting from a different angle.

I strongly agree with you in many respects that it is an industry issue. However, I also feel that student pilots, particularly those undertaking full-time courses, should be eligible for the same automatic student loan that any Tom/Dick/Harry can claim for their course in Art History/Media Studies/American Studies etc.