PDA

View Full Version : So I read the sticky, and now I'm more confused

goldenratiophi
27th Mar 2007, 01:42
I see a wealth of information in these forums, scattered across forums and collected in stickies. However, the more I delve into these topics and read people's stories, the more confused I become. I basically just want some advice on whether this is really for me. So here's some background. This will probably go a bit long, but here it goes...

I'm just a sophomore in high school, with quite a bit of time before most people even think about what to do after high school. For I was a while I was sure I could do very well and be successful in an office/research job in computer science/mathematics. A few days ago I sat down and really pondered my post-high-school existence and came to the conclusion that no matter how good I am at math or programming, I'd completely loathe such a job. Sure I love doing math competitions and do pretty well, and every so often I sit down and churn out a program to do something for me. But suddenly now that I think about I could never do that for a living; while I find such things interesting I rarely find them fun for hours on end, and now that I think about it, I haven't been compelled to sit down and do math or write programs for a long time now.

So I sit down and think: what do I want to do that I would actually like, and not just be good at? Two ideas popped into my head. First of all was being some sort of musician or record producer, but we all know that that field is all luck (even producing), and even those who make it in can't do it for more than a few years.