PDA

View Full Version : IFR Theory question

Newbie 2
6th Mar 2007, 10:32
Hi everyone, I am currently studying the IREX theory and have a couple of practicle questions relating to flying under the IFR. I would appreciate any help that can be given with the following three questions.

1) In the AIP's it talks about the requirment to achieve a certain climb gradient in the missed approach. Could someone please explain how to recalculate the MDA/DA for a single engine go-around so as to meet the required climb gradient for single engine.

2) If you are in the holding pattern with another aircraft and that aircraft is below you and begins the approach, at what point or how much height seperation is required before I can begin flying on the outbound leg of the approach?

3) Once you hold MECIR do you require an instructor to be in the simulator with you when you are doing an approach for currency?

:confused:
Thanks in advance

Lasiorhinus
6th Mar 2007, 14:59
3) No, not an instructor.
If you're flying the approach, you fly it according to the crew requirements of the aircraft you're in.

glenb
6th Mar 2007, 17:24
With regard to the single engine MDA this is how i teach my students.

Step One

calculate what i believe my single engine engine climb gradient is, that i am confident i can achieve. If a particular Seminole can climb at 100 fpm at its best single engine roc of 88 knots. that equates to a 1.1 percent climb gradient (100/88=1.1) as opposed to the required 2.5 percent. The lower figure should actually be your estimated gs.

Step Two

Calculate the difference between the mda and the height i want to climb back up to which may be the top of the missed approach, or perhaps your 10 mile msa. Lets assume the difference is 2000 feet.

Step three