PDA

View Full Version : Turbo Time?

HappyBandit
26th Feb 2007, 07:18
Hey

Need assistance. I am a low time pilot, some 240 odd hours and and wanting to ultimately get into the Airlines (Regionals) like most pilots and have been offered the chance (I have to pay of course), to do a turbo prop endorsement. Should I take this offer up or should I try and get some twin time up and try for a charter job?

Cheers

aircabbie
26th Feb 2007, 07:44
Who is the endo through ?

HappyBandit
26th Feb 2007, 08:07
Does it matter?

morno
26th Feb 2007, 08:18
Yes. It could be an absolutely useless endorsement to you at this point in time, or it could be perhaps useful in the near future. Put it this way, with 240hrs, typically you wouldn't expect to touch a turbine aircraft until at least 1,000hrs. Just the way things are in Australia unfourtanately.

You asked for advice, so why ask "does it matter?" when someone asks what the endorsement is.

morno

HappyBandit
26th Feb 2007, 08:28
No sorry didn't mean it as a derogitary comment. So I take it then that turboprop experience in a caravan for example is a big plus as compared to 182 time and then getting some multi time to hopefully get a step towards airlines?

HappyBandit
26th Feb 2007, 08:44
Yeah that's what I've heard too but just wanted to confirm it. What are say regional airlines like sunstate looking at the moment in terms of multi any one know?

And to add onto this why is it that you can apply for Qantas on the 400's as a SO with just 500 hours PIC (single or twin) and regioanls require at least 500 twin?

And finally how realistic is it for me to get a look in with a bare 500 hours PIC with say 20 hours twin PIC?

Cheers

Swanie
26th Feb 2007, 09:03
u won't, simple

Dookie on Drums
26th Feb 2007, 09:03
Yeah as ga_trojan said,

I recently knocked back a job on a Caravan as I currently am flying a Navajo and the bloke couldn't understand why I didn't want the job.