PDA

View Full Version : HK flying besides CX?

mrl979
10th Feb 2007, 13:53
Hi all!
My husband will be starting a job with CX in May, so we'll both be moving there. I am also a pilot, although my experience is in the charter/corporate end. Is there any additional flying in Hong Kong besides CX? I've read the Hong Kong Express post, and that was discouraging! Something about not hiring women? Are there any charter operators? Any HK based corporate departments? I'd like to continue flying, but if I must take an early retirement, I really won't complain!
How about flying for CX? From what I have seen, they seem to like the airline experience, which I have none. I don't have many hours (2500), not more than 10 hours in a jet, and limited turboprop experience (200). Would there be a chance of getting on with them as an SO?

Thanks again!
--mrl979's wife
:)

Cedar Tree
10th Feb 2007, 16:14
If you cannot find work in HK initially, why not find yourself some contract flying elsewhere to gain some more experience in an attempt to get on with CX? There are many operators out there that will offer you a rotational position with time off in HK. S/O's in 1996/1997 were hired with less than your experience, so keep trying!

mrl979
10th Feb 2007, 18:22
Cedar Tree, could you elaborate on the contract operators that offer time off in HK? This is the first I hear on this matter. I'd like to look into it!

Thanks

Cedar Tree
10th Feb 2007, 19:49
mrl979,

Are you American? If so, you can find contract work flying N registered aircraft outside of Hong Kong.

There are operators that a offer rotational work schedule, with days off in the location of your choice. One operator I know of is 30 days in the field, 30 days at home. This type of work is not all that difficult to obtain, but is usually 'specialty' flying.

Look into geo-surveying companies to start in your research, many of them operate jets and turboprops, operating American or Canadian registered aircraft globally.