View Full Version : any expat pilots in thailand ?

kuwait340
31st Jan 2007, 06:14
hello...

did any expat pilot had the chance to work and live in thailand...if yes...which airline...how is the pay...life style...living costs...schools...

any other info will help....

thanks

dekka007
31st Jan 2007, 06:56
Not much chance or oppurtunities in Thailand just now. Cannot see it changing in the near future much either. I would try other asian countries first more chance.

kuwait340
31st Jan 2007, 10:43
mmm...i see ...

but one of my freinds is really really interested in thailand as a place to work and live....

any one else know anything about that ..plz

dekka007
31st Jan 2007, 10:45
Well it is possible I failed. I have 12 years experience of airline flying, 6000 total and still couldnt secure employment in Thailand :)
And I was type rated on one of the carriers a/c - not even an interview with any Thai carrier.
I ended up taking a better job for more money and less work with another asian operator in a different country.

Thai rak Thai.

kwaiyai
31st Jan 2007, 12:44
Why your friend so interested in Thailand Kuwait? Either way what Dekka 007 says sums it up.
Chok Dee:=

Amin
31st Jan 2007, 15:34
Just saw two ads that they are looking for Captains and FO in a Boeing 767, and they are also looking for a FO in a MD 82 in Thailand. Check out www.climbto350.com (http://www.climbto350.com).

kuwait340
31st Jan 2007, 15:41
hello...

kwaiyai, my freind wants to work in thailand because his wife is thai...and he have kids from her.

dekka007, thanks for your kind replys.

Amin, i will have a look at the web and forward it to my freind...thanks.

dekka007
1st Feb 2007, 05:40
There are some commuting jobs available in nearby asian countries.

Should be able to secure a position somewhere in Asia that will still allow him to live in Thailand with a better quality of life as I believe unless it is a short term contract position through an agency - you will be on local Thai terms.