PDA

View Full Version : BA Pilots and Cabin Crew

apaddyinuk
23rd Jan 2007, 19:52
Sorry for making a new thread here but I feel it deserves one. (Mods, I understand if you want to move it but can you keep it up here for a few hours at least...cheers!)
I am a very VERY pro flight deck cabin crew member. I have nothing but respect for flight crew, my father is one and I once upon a time wished to be one myself.
HOWEVER, It has come to my attention that there are a number of you out there bullying cabin crew over the current industrial situation. In fact I know of several incidents whereby crew have been reduced to tears by arrogant abusive attitudes from beyond the flight deck door.
This is a blatant misuse of your authority. Regardless of your opinions towards the unions and crew in general nothing gives you the right to bully in the work place which is exactly what you are doing. BASSA are now aware of this and encouraging crew to take the names and staff numbers of flight crew (and indeed anyone in the company) who harasse crew in this manner as they can be reported and a personal greivance may be taken out under EG102/3.
A quote of "bullying" under this policy is "This is the persistent misuse of power and aggression, sometimes subtle in nature, intended to hurt, humiliate and belittle an individual or group of individuals."
You do a totally different job to us, different things effect us to what effect you. None of you are really in a position to comment on our terms and conditions. Our problems are not just about NAPS (Im not a NAPS member) or EG300, this is an all encompassing battle. Give it a rest, dont bring it up in work and try and have a little bit of respect for your fellow man and colleague. At the end of the day just have some level of CRM if you are incapable of being nice through your own personality! Reducing women to tears is nothing to be proud of!