PDA

View Full Version : Police / HEMS?

Seymour Belvoir
4th Jan 2007, 19:12
I am a current RAF pilot who is thinking of leaving. I will have 2,000 hrs and an ATPL(H) in my back pocket and I am interested in finding out more about flying for the Police or Air Ambulance.
Any information on the following would be appreciated:
Shift patterns.
Recruitment procedure and length of contracts.
How long do you have to 'float' for before getting a permanent position.
Pay & allowences.
Thanks for your help,
SB :hmm:

cyclic
4th Jan 2007, 19:18
You won't have to float at the moment. Speak to the major providers directly and I'm sure they will tell you everything you need to know. There are plenty of opportunities and they will only be to pleased to speak.

MamaPut
4th Jan 2007, 20:57
SB,
It might seem like a silly suggestion, but why not try Africa? Bristow are desperate for people at present and pay amd allowances are good (as they need to be because of the risks involved - though, if you ever got to NI/Falklands/GW it would be as nothing! :} ). They're offering 6/6 or 8/4 touring rotations (good for avoiding UK tax liability :) ) and you'd fly around 80 - 100 hours a month, so good for hours building. It's not too long away from your family if you have children and all the time off is completely free, which is great. With your hours, you probably wouldn't qualify for a command on most oil company contracts, but Bristow now employ some expat SFOs, you'd get valuable offshore and IFR time and soon have enough hours to meet the oil company requirements. You'd also get a Bell 412, EC155 or S76 conversion which may be useful down the road. Although Bristow is an American company nowadays, it still has an office in Redhill which does a lot of the administration for Nigeria and the 2 ops managers in Nigeria are both currently Brits. If you want to know more PM me

MightyGem
4th Jan 2007, 23:41
Seymour, check your PMs.

MarkFour
5th Jan 2007, 10:59
Seymour,