PDA

View Full Version : Part Time Work post Forces

Flare_Level_Cushion
3rd Jan 2007, 22:00
I am a currently serving pilot in the Armed Forces with approx 700 hours on a twin turbine helicopter.

I am looking to change my career and leave the forces and study another degree in order to achieve this.

Is it realistic to imagine that I could complete my licenses with a CPL and a frozen ATPL(H) and work at weekends / part time for heli aeromed or a private firm on an ad hoc basis to pay for my studies?

Or is my experience / availability likely to minimise my chances?

If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate them.

I have 19 months left approximately.

Thanks,

M

helopat
4th Jan 2007, 04:11
I am a currently serving pilot in the Armed Forces with approx 700 hours on a twin turbine helicopter.
I am looking to change my career and leave the forces and study another degree in order to achieve this.
Is it realistic to imagine that I could complete my licenses with a CPL and a frozen ATPL(H) and work at weekends / part time for heli aeromed or a private firm on an ad hoc basis to pay for my studies?
Or is my experience / availability likely to minimise my chances?
If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate them.
I have 19 months left approximately.
Thanks,
M

Mate,

You've asked a lot and we don't have much info on you. Is your total time 700, or just multi helo? Good that you've got the ATPL done. What is this new career you're studying for?

It may not matter, but here in Australia I don't think you've got much of a chance financing your further education on a part time flying gig. With 700 hours multi helo (if that is your total?) you haven't got much of a chance in the EMS business (mostly they're looking for full time flyers)...not sure what your chances would be in other types of rotary flying, but the multi time won't ammount to much if you don't have a bigger total. This, of course, is my opinion (and I'm here to be proven wrong).