PDA

View Full Version : work in PNG

Outbound090
11th Dec 2006, 09:36
I'm trying to find out as much as I can about working in PNG. What I need to do to get in. & What companies are there? I have 1500hours, whats the best I could hope for?
Thanks.

the wizard of auz
11th Dec 2006, 12:50
whats the best I could hope for?
Not to die on a cold mountain side.
Ask Ozex, chimbu chuckles, Tinpis or any of those guys that hang out in the PNG thread. I am sure one of them will have a templated answer for the questions you have.
You will need some turbine time to give you both, a chance of a decent job and a far better chance of survival.
I was a high time pilot when I went over there, and I can tell you, It aint for sissys or the weak hearted.
Very challenging flying.

air med
11th Dec 2006, 23:39
go and chat with regional and airlink, they take guys with around your hours, but as the wizard said it is not for the faint hearted, like wizard i had a lot more hours than you have and there were days it was better staying in bed.
But apart from that loved the flying, loved the scuba diving and I thiink all ex PNGers the SP not that bad, miss my house merri
lookim belongyu

Outbound090
12th Dec 2006, 00:42
Thanks heaps guys, I'll follow them up.
I'm sure it will be a challange, but I'm keen to give it a go.

Capt Fathom
12th Dec 2006, 00:58
miss my house merri
And if you notice a haus meri wearing a Seiko watch, it's mine! So don't tell 'em you're leaving!

Chimbu chuckles
12th Dec 2006, 02:09
I arrived in PNG with less than 400 hrs 20 years ago this mth...I left with 9000+ nearly 14 yrs later. It was, and will remain, without doubt the best years of my life...but times have changed so you should listen to guys more current than myself.