PDA

View Full Version : Landing Approach > Google Earth!!!!!


miikey
2nd Dec 2006, 20:52
well now you can see what a pilot sees when landing.
Check out this picture of what it would be like to approach Heathrow (09L),,remember this is the real thing and not a simulator,,okay this would have been a cool thing 3 years ago, before VRF photographic senery came out for fligh sims,

for those who dont know i was using google earth, please post your screen shots too!:ok:

http://img70.imageshack.us/img70/9268/heathowlandingmq1.jpg

...Traffic at Heathrow

http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/9139/fdlb5.jpg

Heathrow airport again.... but are they cleaning or defrosting these aircraft?

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/4566/cljfs5.jpg

Ah yes virgin altantic and a few 737's...

http://img488.imageshack.us/img488/5151/heathrow2tq8.jpg

...St Marteen approach

http://img382.imageshack.us/img382/2927/stmateenxd9.jpg

San fransico approach...

http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/5275/sanfranay3.jpg

(hawaii) honolulu approach...

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/8897/hawaiivc6.jpg

The Grand Canyon...

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/9247/grandhk7.jpg

and again...

http://img344.imageshack.us/img344/1746/grand2ds5.jpg

rotorcraig
2nd Dec 2006, 21:17
Wow, I never realised that everything around LHR was so flat and green :rolleyes: :ugh:

RC

UL730
2nd Dec 2006, 21:28
I believe anyone viewing Area 51 on Google Earth is automatically tracked via their IP by the NSA however viewing crop circles is deemed a valid defence. :uhoh:

Blues&twos
2nd Dec 2006, 21:35
Anyone know why you can only see a/c on Google Earth in and very close to airports, but mysteriously nowhere else in the sky?

Loose rivets
2nd Dec 2006, 21:46
It's the only time the crew have got nothing better to do:}

miikey
2nd Dec 2006, 21:55
I believe anyone viewing Area 51 on Google Earth is automatically tracked via their IP by the NSA however viewing crop circles is deemed a valid defence. :uhoh:

lol, hmm i would really love for the FIB or someone to come knocking on my door. I would put a screen shot of area 51, but well i just wont,

G-CPTN
2nd Dec 2006, 21:57
this would have been a cool thing 3 years ago, before VRF photographic senery came out for fligh sims,
I was a Beta tester for the first (VisualFlight) FlightSim Scenery . . .

Wow, I never realised that everything around LHR was so flat and green :rolleyes: :ugh:
RC
That's because Google Earth images are stretched over a flat matrix. Flight Sim scenery is applied over a subsiduary terrain mesh which reproduces contours. It's great fun to 'fly' a Harrier (or a Hawk or whatever you choose) along the Welsh valleys with the hills either side ABOVE you. The gradients within FlightSim terrain mesh also mean that landing a light aircraft (or microlight) and cutting the power it ill run down the slope (as I found out when landing a 'trike' on a cliff top and ended-up in the 'sea').

Anyone know why you can only see a/c on Google Earth in and very close to airports, but mysteriously nowhere else in the sky?
Because the complete 'picture' is an amalgam of images. The editors do their best to avoid frames that include 'rogue' images, however there ARE odd shots showing aircraft at low level (there's a famous B747 on finals towards Gatwick).

jabberwok
2nd Dec 2006, 23:05
I was a Beta tester for the first (VisualFlight) FlightSim Scenery

Funny... so was I. One presumes you mean the test area around Cardiff..

G-CPTN
2nd Dec 2006, 23:14
One presumes you mean the test area around Cardiff..
Yup! And later on the whole series before release. I 'specialised' on my home area and particularly covered the Scottish Border in minute detail. My 'favourite' FS flight is to and from the Otterburn Ranges following the valleys and staying 'low down' as the real guys try to do. MY advantage is that if I get it wrong it doesn't hurt nor do I have to fill in a form for loss of the a/c.

allan907
3rd Dec 2006, 00:29
Google Earth is a wonderful thing but it does have its limitations.......

take the approach etc to Gibraltar.....

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c92/allan907/Gib2.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c92/allan907/Gib1.jpg

And for aircraft in the sky you could always try

52 20 12.33N 0 11 47.06W

tony draper
3rd Dec 2006, 00:34
Bah! I had Flight Sim once an I bought the Tyneside Scenery disc,I could never find Draper towers an there were no feckin Migs to shoot down,dammed sissy's game that is.
:rolleyes:

miikey
3rd Dec 2006, 00:44
The Famous Kai Tak (Hong Kong) is well for a long time been pratically dissolved, and runway 13 has has now been partially converted into a parking-lot ,,,lol.:eek:

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/2812/kaitakhe6.jpg

vapilot2004
3rd Dec 2006, 00:50
Great stuff Google Earth. Beats NASA's World Wind software. :ok:

well now you can see what a pilot sees when landing.
Check out this picture of what it would be like to approach Heathrow (09L),,remember this is the real thing and not a simulator
http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/9139/fdlb5.jpg



As PIC (or a passenger), the above image would make me nervous. :eek:

Lon More
3rd Dec 2006, 10:52
As PIC (or a passenger), the above image would make me nervous
Type not specified, could be a Stuka?:)

Lot of ammo for "flat earthers" here

dontpickit
3rd Dec 2006, 11:36
Lot of ammo for "flat earthers" here

Or 'hollow earthers' here:

http://www1.airliners.net/open.file/665824/L/

Apparently this feature can cause some unusual turbulence.

Jerricho
3rd Dec 2006, 11:39
Sorry for stating the obvious, but THAT is a big feckin hole!

slim_slag
3rd Dec 2006, 12:40
Similar shaped mine to the left when 2 miles out of runway 5 at KCGZ. Not quite as close or deep and don't have picture.

Lon More
3rd Dec 2006, 12:46
Left hand thread I see. If it was nearer one of the poles I would suggest it's where one of the screws went in that stops the globe crashing off its stand.

miikey
3rd Dec 2006, 13:28
Left hand thread I see. If it was nearer one of the poles I would suggest it's where one of the screws went in that stops the globe crashing off its stand.

:D lol, hmm thats an interesting theory you got there, or this might be the place where you could deflate the Earth

SLFguy
3rd Dec 2006, 14:55
Good grief! You people know nothing...I have two words for you all..'Belly' and 'Button'.

Sheesh..:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Jerricho
3rd Dec 2006, 16:44
If that's the Earth's navel, then West London must be Earth's ass...................

Lon More
3rd Dec 2006, 16:50
I have two words for you all..'Belly' and 'Button'
Alternatively, "Golden" and "Rivet"

Jerricho
3rd Dec 2006, 16:51
....and the Grand Canyon :E :E :E

G-CPTN
3rd Dec 2006, 16:57
What did they do with the spoil from the hole?



I suppose they dug another hole and buried it?

(Credit 'Porridge' RIP Ronnie Barker . . . )

SLFguy
3rd Dec 2006, 17:16
If that's the Earth's navel, then West London must be Earth's ass...................


Instructions on Haema..Heamorr...'Pile Cream'

"Locate Feltham and apply liberally"

boris
3rd Dec 2006, 17:24
Michael Watterson

Try:-
64.34.52.00 N
39.48.47.00 E

THAT'S a submarine! - and a Carrier too!

ExSimGuy
3rd Dec 2006, 17:48
That hole is to solve the problem of what to do with the wrecks, after over-runs :E

ExSimGuy
3rd Dec 2006, 17:52
That hole is to solve the problem of what to do with the wrecks, after over-runs :E

(Never had to use it though, Pilots approaching Mirney on 06 usually have the speed-brakes out and reverse thrust engaged 100 hundred yards before the runway ;) )

miikey
3rd Dec 2006, 19:10
Michael Watterson

Try:-
64.34.52.00 N
39.48.47.00 E

THAT'S a submarine! - and a Carrier too!

hey,,well i tried those coordinates but Google Earth:ugh: ,,couldnt find it. cause its taking me somewhere into russia, lol

boris
3rd Dec 2006, 19:31
Better stop l'ing out loud and have another look then Mikey boy.

You're right about Mother Russia tho'

I have rechecked the co-ordinates and they are correct - sarky!

Lon More
3rd Dec 2006, 20:29
reverse thrust engaged 100 hundred yards before the runway
100 x 100 =10000yards. Divided by 1760 =5½ statute miles. And you still made the runway?:oh:

Maybe more time in the sim?

miikey
3rd Dec 2006, 22:03
Better stop l'ing out loud and have another look then Mikey boy.

You're right about Mother Russia tho'

I have rechecked the co-ordinates and they are correct - sarky!

i blame this on google earth, but in all seriousness google earth says
"No Search Results".
im no expert in reading coordinates so i woudnt be able to find them manually.:(

Groundgripper
3rd Dec 2006, 23:26
i blame this on google earth, but in all seriousness google earth says
"No Search Results".

MW: try removing the first two decimal points in both northing and easting - that should make it work.

64 34 52.00 N, 39 48 47.00 E

Nice piccy of a Typhoon class sub, I think, weighs in at about 27000 tons.:hmm:

GG

wiccan
3rd Dec 2006, 23:52
Mike,
Your first post is [very] reminicent of FS2002 LHR...the "Add ons" are rather better.....but a photograph "on finals" would show a LOT more of the "environs" of Heathrow.:ugh:
BTW try the "same" app at Manchester....and you get the same background scenery....:E
bb

miikey
4th Dec 2006, 19:19
MW: try removing the first two decimal points in both northing and easting - that should make it work.

64 34 52.00 N, 39 48 47.00 E

Nice piccy of a Typhoon class sub, I think, weighs in at about 27000 tons.:hmm:

GG

well that did the trick,and heres my proof

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/2082/sweeric6.jpg