PDA

View Full Version : Impossible electric car

sailor
19th Nov 2006, 15:38
With the (supposed) oil shortage and probable global-warming problems the future for the car must be an alternative drive/fuel system; hybrids already and expensively starting to appear.
I am no engineer and know that one cannot get anything for nothing and perpetual-motion is a vain hope but..............
the car has 4 wheels(mostly!) which could be adapted to drive an alternator each to produce the electric juice required to power the single electric drive motor, probably through a battery which could be bypassed, and the roof has one or more wind driven generators/alternators fitted to provide yet more juice so that the faster you go the more power is provided to the "engine" until you reach Mach crit, or the state where power can no longer overcome friction/drag.
Simplistic and obviously not viable, but why not?????:ok:

Takes hardhat and spanner for fast exit: and fire-extinguisher to deal with the flames in which I am about to be shot down!

allan907
19th Nov 2006, 15:45
Road works, traffic lights, give way and stop junctions and pedestrian crossings to name but five. Never get up to critical mach number:{

G-CPTN
19th Nov 2006, 16:02
http://www.blert.net/rhoderally/i/cars/aerocar.jpg

tony draper
19th Nov 2006, 17:15
Talking to a Auto Engineer once and one put forward the idea of a heavy flywheell that would spin up and absorb the energy that is wasted when braking ,then would release said energy back to the wheels when accelerating away again,he told me such a vehicle had been tried and indeed he had owed a car with such a system,the downside being it used to frighten the lives out of peeps on zebra crossing ect because as one pulled up to allow them to cross the flywheel spinning up sounded as if he was reving the engine with the intent of charging forward and running the zebra crossing users down.
:uhoh:

G-CPTN
19th Nov 2006, 17:45