PDA

View Full Version : Qantas in Chicago?

weasil
9th Nov 2006, 17:05
So I was departing out of Chicago ORD this morning and heard a Qantas Flight 75**(flight number?) on Chicago Approach. I thought maybe QF are flying into ORD now but I asked a controller and he said that it was a cargo flight. I have never seen an airplane in Qantas colors at ORD though (Ive been flying out of there for several years). Am I blind or does qantas have cargo planes painted in a different scheme? Just curious. Do they fly direct to Australia from Chicago?

SM4 Pirate
9th Nov 2006, 18:30
Code share deal with an American based freight org; they fly to SY, ML and BN I believe; see the "7593" here all the time (US registered and crewed).

Pete Conrad
9th Nov 2006, 21:30
When QF get the 747-800, they will open up SYD-ORD.

DUXNUTZ
9th Nov 2006, 21:48
I think from memory its QF using Atlas Air 747's to ferry freight.

Spanner Turner
9th Nov 2006, 23:12
I think from memory its QF using Atlas Air 747's to ferry freight.

Duxnutz is bang on the money, Atlas freighters wet leased to qantas!

:ok:

Keg
10th Nov 2006, 05:26
But wait. I thought there was no money in freight?!?! Surely we weren't being fed a line by James Strong all those years ago! :E

As a side note does anyone know what sort of terms and conditions the Atlas 744 drivers are on?

Dynasty Trash Hauler
10th Nov 2006, 06:30
There aint no money in freight at QF mainline overheads. A lot of incumbents use wetlease operations to cart freight because the margins are so thin.

Atlas crews get a shiiiteload less than QF crews flying the 747, over 100k for LHS but not much over. Like all the ACMI/wetlease ops, Atlas is run pretty tight.

pakeha-boy
10th Nov 2006, 23:44
Weasil.........AirNZ does the same thing,...hear them quite often late at night doing the west-east runs...all crewed by USA crews .....just the callsign is "EAR Knew Zeelund Heavy".....no boys from downunder on these jobs...PB

neville_nobody
11th Nov 2006, 04:40