PDA

View Full Version : 999 Emergency

speedbird001
1st Nov 2006, 11:09
Hi all,
Anybody heard of this happening :confused: On Monday i went to the Drs to complain about a slight pain in the far left of my chest, the Dr suggested that i had an ECG at the health centre which i did.
I gave him the results of my test and to my shock and surprise :eek: he dialled 999 and they swept me off the hospital with an oxygen mask on etc.
On arrival at the hospital they did ECG tests again and the Drs there said there was absolutely nothing wrong with my heart :confused:
As i hold a Class 1 and i'm studying for my ATPL does anyone think i should get another opinion as i'm really worried now as i've got my Class 1 Re-newel coming up in the next weeks and this one i will need an ECG
Cheers
SB001

Loose rivets
1st Nov 2006, 15:53
Did the folk at the hospital get a look at the first ECG reults? Have you still got them?

Mac the Knife
1st Nov 2006, 18:41
The ECG machine at the health centre may have been one of those automated models that attempts to analyse the tracing - they usually print out the "analysis" on the trace too.

The "analysis" is often completely innapropriate or just plain wrong (it's not very intelligent on workaday machines) - your GP may have taken it at face value, hence the alarm. The folks at the health centre might also have connected up the leads wrong (which gives very bizarre results).

If they haven't lost the trace, get someone who understands ECGs properly (not me) to look at it.

:ok:

speedbird001
2nd Nov 2006, 07:06
Thanks for your replies,

The Dr gave my initial results to the Paramedics when they took me to the hospital, my Dr run the ECG test twice, once while i was holding my breath, he said whilst i was holding my breath the result should've been different to the first one, i have really no idea what he was talking about but he mentioned Q waves :confused: