PDA

View Full Version : Any Aeronautical Engineers around here?

Gearupandorrf
30th Oct 2006, 09:46
Hey everyone,

Just wondering if there are Aeronautical Engineers that visit these Forums occassionally? If so, I'd be really interested in catching up and getting a feel for the state of the Industry here in Australia- particularly in terms of the likelyhood of securing relevant Employment upon graduating with a B. Eng (Aero) Degree.

The Institution that I'm hoping to study with has quoted that "approx. 90% of Graduates find Emplyment within the Aerospace Industry within four months of Graduation".

My background is that I have an Oz CPL and UK (JAA) Frozen ATPL. I moved to the UK 3 years ago to try and get my Flying career up and running- but due to a few factors it just didn't work out for me over there. So about 5 months ago I moved home to Melbourne. Now at nearly 33 and about 400 hrs TT, I'm under no illusions that I'm way past the "experience commensurate with age" eight ball.

I feel that qualifying as an Aeronautical Engineer will lead me to a satisfying and rewarding job, and there does seem to be some opportunities for Graduates on seek.com.au. For the last four months I've been working in a non- Aviation job, and it's making me miserable as I'm a bit of an Aeroplane head. My mind seems to be made up, but I'd still like to hear from others.

Are any of you out there in/ have been in the same position as me (from aspiring Commercial Pilot to soon- to- be- studying Aeronautical Engineer)?
How has it worked out for you?

Cheers,
Gearup.

djpil
30th Oct 2006, 10:15
The Engineering Profession - A Statistical Overview, March 2006 (http://qld.engineersaustralia.org.au/jetspeed/static/items/2/3880/EngStats.pdf) is a good place to start finding answers.