PDA

View Full Version : Using Veg oil/bio diesel instead of diesel. Have you done it?

WeLieInTheShadows
4th Oct 2006, 02:05
Obviously being a thrifty bunch on here (don't say you aren't, look how popular the free software thread was!), i was wondering if anyone had tried replacing filling their diesel car/van with either Veg oil or bio diesel?

For those of you thining I've obviously been on the grog all night, I assure you I've not!

Apparently, diesel engines were originally created to run on veg oil, but now for some reason run on....er....diesel (I'm no expert).

However you can buy a converter to put on your engine to alter the viscocity of the oil so it can run through your diesel engine as fuel.

Alternatively you can go around your local chippie/kebab shop and ask to take away their old cooking oil, refine it using a special process and add some stuff (I know not what) and it become "bio diesel". This however attracts tax as you are becoming a fuel producer (damn tax man!)

Alway.

Just wondering if anyones dome it, thinking of doing it, know someone who's done it.

Why?

Just bought a 3.0TD 4 by 4 and wondering if I could reduce my running costs.

Thanks in advance for all your replies!

WLITS

Paracab
4th Oct 2006, 03:26
Just bought a 3.0TD 4 by 4 and wondering if I could reduce my running costs.

Easy, sell it.

Seriously though, I have done some reading on this subject and as far as I can tell its not really worth the effort.

There was a chap on a farm near me selling bio-diesel (or whatever its called) but for the same price as regular diesel, the only advantage is that burning it is 'greener'. And presumably it makes him richer.

Tired Old Man
4th Oct 2006, 05:09
My friend has a Toyota Land cruiser and runs it on a diesel + vegetable oil mix, once in a while he runs a full tank of diesel through.
Start him talking on this subject and your captive for hours.:)
Seems like a lot of bother though ?.:confused:

Lon More
4th Oct 2006, 05:41